top of page
Asset 2.png

The Little Rock Branch NAACP WIN Award is presented to women who demonstrate outstanding commitment to advancing the NAACP’s Mission Statement of ensuring political, educational, social, and economic equality; and to eliminate race-based discrimination.

Asset 2.png

Keynote Speaker

Judge Tjuana Byrd 
Judge Tjuana Byrd currently serves as Pulaski County 8th Division Circuit Court Judge. She has spent her adult life serving  the public with specific concerns for children, women and girls, the elderly and healthy living.
Jannie Cotton is a retired CEO and a licensed Professional Counselor. She is also a motivational speaker and leadership consultant. In 2020, Jannie was the Democratic candidate for State Representative District 41.

Mistress of Ceremony

Jannie M. Cotton
The WIN Awards

The Founders Award recognizes a member who has rendered distinguished service to the Association. 

The Community Service Award honors a person who has made a significant contribution to their community through their time, actions, talents, and dedication.

The Trailblazer Award is presented to a person who has taken risks and has taken the path less traveled.

The Activism Award is bestowed upon a member of the community whose work improves human rights, the environment, economic and global justice, or cultural resistance.

Introducing our 2021 WIN Honorees...
Francis Hooks WIN Founders Award
Linda Chesterfield.Picture.jpg

Senator Linda Pondester Chesterfield has represented District 30 since first being elected as a State Representative. Among her many accomplishments, she worked relentlessly to pass legislation appropriating funds for Historic Black Colleges and Universities.

Sen. Linda Pondexter Chesterfield
Erma Hunter / Lottie Shackleford Trailblazer Award
 Sen. Joyce Elliott

Senator Joyce Elliott has represented the 31st District since 2000 and is the current chair of the Arkansas Legislative Black Caucus. She was the Democratic nominee in the 2020 election for Arkansas's 2nd Congressional District.

Annie Abrams Education & Community Service Award 
 Dr. Katherine Mitchell

Dr. Katherine P. Mitchell is a former president of Shorter College.  She is a former member of the Little Rock School Board member where she fought to ensure quality education opportunities for children.

Rosa Parks / Daisy Bates Activism Award
Dr. Anika Whitfield

Dr. Katherine P. Mitchell is a Podiatry Specialist and an ordained Baptist minister.  She is a volunteer and mentor who also advocates for human rights, equity, justice and the Poor People's Campaign.

It is the financial goal of the WIN Committee to raise $5,000 to support women who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to advancing the NAACP’s Mission Statement of ensuring the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons, and to eliminate race-based discrimination.


Please consider making a donation because there are women in our community that need and deserve our support. Anonymous donations are always welcome

Please select the image to the right to contribute a  donation to


bottom of page